The USFUVG Board is made up of a diverse group of people spread across the United States. What unites us is our desire to improve lives and communities by increasing access to quality education for deserving students in Guatemala.


Current Board Members

  • Gabriela Asturias
    MiResource, Inc.; San Mateo, CA
  • Marcello Canuto
    Middle American Research Institute, Tulane University; New Orleans, LA
  • Monica Arenas Christman
    AFJ & Associates; Leesburg, VA
  • Ana Lucia Cottone
    Knack Talent, Inc.; Los Angeles, CA
  • Margot Herrera
    Independent Book Editor; New York, NY
  • Catalina L. Keilhauer, Secretary
    Educational Consultant; Baltimore, MD
  • Gerrity Lansing
    Equator, LLC; New York, NY
  • John E. Mack III, Treasurer
    Imperial Capital; Pacific Palisades, CA
  • Stephen Miller
    Dillon Gage; Addison, TX
  • Alvaro Molina-Cruz
    Biomedical Researcher; Bethesda, MD
  • José Carlos Monzón
    Plus Technologies & Innovations Group; Palmetto Bay, FL
  • Tessa Namuth
    Newsweek Magazine, Retired; New York, NY
  • A. Lorena Passarelli
    Kansas State University, Division of Biology; Manhattan, KS
  • Gabriela Quiñonez
    Embassy of Guatemala; Washington, DC
  • Rita H. von der Goltz
    Investment Professional; Key Biscayne, FL
  • Bruce Wharton, Vice President
    Ambassador (ret); Asheville, NC
  • Peg Willingham, President
    Save the Children; Washington, D.C.
  • H. S. Wright III
    Seattle Hospitality Group, LLC; Seattle, WA

Additional Communication Committee members

  • Victoria Anders 
    Washington University in St. Louis; St. Louis, MO




  • Mary Brueggeman, Executive Director
    Mukilteo, WA
  • Ted Grover, Comptroller
    Princeton, NJ

Trustees Emeriti

The Trustees Emeriti are former members of the Board who have provided distinguished service and extraordinary contributions to USFUVG throughout their tenure and who we gratefully recognize:

  • John R. Hamilton (2006–2018)
  • Berkley Cone (1996–2017; 2019–2020)
  • Carlos Nottebohm (1996-2022)


Previous Board Members

Since the late 1970s, USFUVG has benefited from the dedicated leadership of men and women who have served on the Board of Directors. Their dedication and hard work has made a significant contribution not only to the US Foundation of the University of the Valley of Guatemala but also to the University itself and to the future of education in Guatemala. USFUVG is most grateful for their board service.

  • David Anstice
  • Gary Bratcher
  • David Bird*
  • Rachel Bird Anderson
  • Admiral R.C. Benitez
  • Susan Benson
  • Jack Blackburn*
  • Allen Burns
  • Laura Canuto
  • Araceli Castaneda
  • Stephen Cheng
  • Shelby Counce
  • Berkley Cone
  • Charley Davis
  • Rick Falck
  • Joe Fox*
  • Cristina Franco
  • Helen Franklin*
  • John R. Hamilton
  • Jeff Horowitz
  • Philip Herrera*
  • Kenneth Jacobsen
  • Richard King
  • Lutz Langnau
  • Erick Mack*
  • Walter Mahoney*
  • Walter B. Mahony, Jr.
  • Carlos Nottebohm
  • Peter Nash
  • Hugo Pinillos
  • Fritz Rosengarten*
  • Leveo Sanchez
  • Guillermo Sanchez*
  • Robert Sharer*
  • William Skidmore
  • John Sly
  • Robert Strider*
  • Tom Stroock*
  • Robert Taichert
  • Jane Thery
  • Neil Tillotson*
  • Kristin Lion Torres
  • Jack Vaughn*
  • Kenneth Veronda
  • Joseph Weintraub